High Bandwidth | Low Bandwidth
![]() | African American Music Reference Description: This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores. Tags: (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about African American Music Reference? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | African American Song Description: This is the first electronic database to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service of approximately 50,000 digital music tracks by African Americans. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. This great collection features recordings from the first half of the 20th century and includes iconic artists such as The Fisk Jubilee Singers, Memphis Minnie, Blind Willie McTell and Huddie Ledbetter. Tags: jazz, blues, ragtime, stage, gospel, african american, musical expression, music, folk songs, narratives, African American Song (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about African American Song? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | All Music Guide Description: A large, informative site covering multiple styles of music (rap, rock, classical, country, etc.). Tags: music, rap, rock, classical, country, All music guide (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about All Music Guide? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Andante Description: Andante offers news about music, performance reviews, reference resources, event calendars, Webcasts, recordings, and link directories. The corporate sponsor, staffed by international experts, is based in New York. Advisors include Pierre Boulez and musicologist Jean-Jacques Nattiez. Free to all users, the site fulfills the company's dual purpose of documenting classical music recordings and presenting information to classical music amateurs and professionals. Tags: news, music, performance reviews, reference resources, event calenars, Webcasts, recording, classical music, Andante (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Andante? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Classical Music Library Description: This is an electronic database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. User may also use the databases option to create playlists and themes. Tags: music, classical, recordings, Classical Music Library, classical music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Classical Music Library? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Duke Digital Collections Description: Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America. Tags: advertising, sheet music, North Carolina, Duke University, Duke, Durham, photographs, photos, images, history, culture (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Duke Digital Collections? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Free Sheet Music Description: Download sheet music, music lessons and musical tips for instruments and musical styles. Tags: sheet music, Free Sheet Music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Free Sheet Music? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | International Index to Music Periodicals Description: (also known as IIMP) 1874- Provides indexes, abstracts and selected full text for hundreds of music journals covering research on topics such as performance, theory, composition, music education, jazz and ethnomusiciology. Includes scholarly and popular materials. Tags: arts, music, social science, humanities, international index to music, international index to music periodicals, iimp (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about International Index to Music Periodicals? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals Description: (RIPM) The online version of the Repertoire international de la press musicale, containing article citations for over 65 primarily 19th century periodicals published in most European countries and the United States. Tags: music, international index to nineteenth century music periodicals, nineteenth century music, ripm (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Lyrics World Description: Search for the lyrics of your favorite songs. Tags: music, lyrics world, lyrics, music lyrics (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Lyrics World? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Music Index Online Description: 1979-1998. Citations from more than 655 international music periodicals covering every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Tags: music, Music Index Online, music index, music online (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Music Index Online? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Musipedia: The Open Music Encyclopedia Description: Encyclopedia of tunes, musical themes and melodies. Tags: music, Musipedia: The Open Music Encyclopedia, music encyclopedia (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Musipedia: The Open Music Encyclopedia? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Naxos Music Library Description: Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000† tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music * . Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office. Naxos Music Library and all of its contents are owned by Naxos Digital Services Ltd., part of the Hong Kong-based Naxos Group of Companies. († As of June 2006) Tags: music, jazz, world, folk, Naxos Music Library, naxos, naxos music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Naxos Music Library Jazz Description: Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 20,000* tracks of jazz from over 1,900* albums. Over 500* jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artist. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office. Naxos Music Library Jazz and all of its contents are owned by Naxos Digital Services Ltd., part of the Hong Kong-based Naxos Group of Companies. (*As of October 2006) Tags: music, jazz, Naxos Music Library Jazz, naxos jazz, naxos music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library Jazz? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Oxford Music Online Description: Contains over 29,000 articles and approximately 250,000 citations. Offers full-text searching capabilities as well as article browsing. Selected articles include links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations. Tags: music, Grove Music Online, grove music, oxford music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Oxford Music Online? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Public Domain Music Description: A reference site that assists in the identification of music and songs in the public domain. Tags: music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Public Domain Music? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Description: 1979-near present Topics covered include historical musicology, ethnomusicology, dance, and other fields as they relate to music. Getting started with the RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Database List of journals indexed RILM's broad, international coverage and concise abstracts distinguish it from all other music reference resources. All scholarly works are included (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are included if they are of scholarly interest. Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics. This international bibliography of scholarly writings in 202 languages is classified by topic, and includes original-language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; author, journal, and subject indexes; and a thesaurus. Tags: dance, music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about RILM Abstracts of Music Literature? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals Description: 1800-1950. Contains article citations for over 84 journals covering music periodical literature. Includes information on musical history, composers and compositions to chronicle European and North American musical life. Primary and secondary sources are available including references to images, advertisements, and reviews. Tags: music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources Description: after 1600 An index of music manuscripts gathered from over 740 libraries and archives. Some graphical images from the opening words of early printed materials are included. RISM Composer, RISM Libraries Sigla, and RISM Bibliographic Citations Database also form part of the content. Tags: music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Sheet Music Consortium Description: Collections of digitized sheet music from four academic libraries. Tags: sheet music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Sheet Music Consortium? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Description: This is an electronic database of approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, with audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Tags: music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | Songfacts Description: Song meanings and song information, including recordings, chart positions, trivia and lyrics. Tags: music (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about Songfacts? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |
![]() | The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Description: The full text of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, additional text related to world music, audio examples and links to streaming audio tracks. Tags: (show tags)(hide tags) Comments or questions about The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music? Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu |